Monthly Archives: January, 2009

Giveaway-The Italian Lover, by Robert Hellenga

An exhilarating novel of romance, art, and food in Florence, featuring the beloved Margot Harrington, who graced Robert Hellenga’s The Sixteen Pleasures. Margot Harrington’s memoir about her discovery in Florence of a priceless masterwork of Renaissance erotica – and the misguided love affair it inspired – is now, 25 years later, being made into a […]

Giveaway-Things I Want My Daughters to Know, by Elizabeth Noble

In honor of Things I Want My Daughters to Know being released in paperback, HarperCollins has provided me with 5 paperback copies of Things I Want My Daughters to Know to give away. Think Mother’s Day! Also, on February 18th, they have invited book clubs to call in to our online radio show BookClubGirl on […]

Tag, I'm it!

I’ve been tagged by Becky over at No More Grumpy Bookseller. The rules are:1. Link to the person who has tagged you.2. Write down six things that make you happy.3. Post the rules, tag six others and let them know you did it.4. Then tell the person when your entry is complete. Six things that […]

Giveaway Winners!

Following are the winners of the giveways for the “Love and Other Natural Disaster” and Hachette Audiobooks! Love and Other Natural Disasters Gwendolyn B. The Terror (audiobook) WindycindySaraKaye The Survivors Club (audiobook)AlyceStacieSheri S. Congratulations to all of the winners! Please email me at jenlaw77ATearthlinkDOTnet with your mailing address. All books/audiobooks will be sent directly by […]

A Change Has Come…

Following is the text of President Barack Obama‘s inaugural address on Tuesday, as delivered. OBAMA: My fellow citizens: I stand here today humbled by the task before us, grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our ancestors. I thank President Bush for his service to our nation, as well […]

Review: Gods Behaving Badly, by Marie Phillips

The twelve Greek gods are still alive…and are residing in a run-down townhouse in London. Their lives are quite pathetic. Artemis, the goddess of hunting is a dog walker. Aphrodite, the goddess of beauty, is a phone sex operator. And Apollo, god of the sun, is a TV psychic. The gods, in their boredom, are […]

Review, Blog Tour & Giveaway: Love and Other Natural Disasters by Holly Shumas

It’s Thanksgiving. Eve is eight months pregnant with her second child. Her friends and family are over to celebrate the holiday, and she hears her husband, Jon, talking on the phone in hushed tones. She discovers that he has been in a “relationship” with another woman for over a year. The relationship isn’t physical, but […]

Thanks for all the Awards!

I just wanted to thank everyone who has nominated me for a blog award. I’m sorry I haven’t recognized these earlier, or passed the meme’s on, but I’m overwhelmed with traveling for work. I wanted to be sure, though, to thank you all, and mention all the amazing blogs and bloggers out there!

Hachette Audio Book Giveaway!

Thanks to Anna over at Hachette, I have two great audio books to give away! I have three copies of each audio book available. THE SURVIVORS CLUB (Unabridged) By Ben Sherwood, read by the author In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, THE SURVIVORS CLUB reveals the hidden side of survival by combining […]

Review: Shades of Gray: A Novel of the Civil War in Virginia by Jessica James

Set in Civil War Virginia, SHADES OF GRAY is a powerful tale of loyalty and the love of one’s country. Andrea Evans, a Union spy, disguises herself as a young boy to defend her country. She crosses paths with Captain Alexander Hunter, a Confederate officer. Hunter, unaware of her true identity, becomes obsessed with bringing […]